Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship

A popular smartphone SoC maker, Qualcomm has announced eight winners of the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship (QIF) program in India for the academic year 2018-19. QIF is a program created by Qualcomm India’s R&D team that focuses on Masters and Ph.D. students from top institutes across the country to cultivate new and forward-thinking ideas. The winners – up to two students and sponsoring faculty advisor(s) will receive an award of INR 10 lakhs each, plus assignment of Qualcomm India researchers as mentors to facilitate close interaction with Qualcomm India Research.

The third edition of the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship, India Program received a total of 95 high-quality submissions from students on topics like:

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Advances in Communication Techniques & Theory
  • Automated Driver Assistance System
  • Computer Vision and Extended Reality
  • Machine Learning
  • Multimedia: Imaging, Audio & Video
  • Advanced Semiconductors
  • Computer Architecture

Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship The eight winning teams of the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship, India Program 2018 are: 

  • Aadirupa Saha recommended by Prof. Aditya Gopalan from IISc – Bangalore for her proposal on “Battle of Bandits”
  • Vineeth Kumar V recommended by Prof. Neelesh B. Mehta from IISc – Bangalore for his proposal on “Feedback Overhead Reduction in 5G using Base Station-Side Estimation”
  • Anirban Ghose and Srijeeta Maity recommended by Prof. Soumyajit Dey and Prof. Pabitra Mitra from IIT – Kharagpur for their proposal on “Intelligent ADAS Task Management on Heterogeneous Automotive Architectures”
  • Prashant Pandey and Varun Srivastava recommended by Prof. AP Prathosh from IIT – Delhi for their proposal on “Non-contact Cardio-Pulmonary Assessment in the wild using imaging techniques”
  • Manoj A and Rashmi P recommended by Prof. Arun Pachai Kannu from IIT – Madras for their proposal on “Quantum Theoretic Codes for the Cell Discovery Problem in mm Wave Communication Systems”
  • Suraj Srivastava and Saumya Dwivedi recommended by Prof. Aditya K. Jagannatham from IIT – Kanpur for their proposal on “Sparse Signal Processing for 5G mm Wave Hybrid MIMO Technology”
  • Abbhinav Venkat and Sai Sagar Jinka recommended by Prof. Avinash Sharma from IIIT – Hyderabad for their proposal on “Textured Non-rigid 3D Reconstruction in a calibration free environment”
  • Jerin Geo James recommended by Prof. Ajit Rajwade from IIT – Bombay for his proposal on “Underwater Image Processing: Point Tracking, Motion Segmentation, Restoration”

The QIF committee selected Avisek Lahiri and Abhinav Agarwalla recommended by Prof. Prabir K Biswas and Prof. Pabitra Mitra from IIT-Kharagpur, for their proposal on “Domain Adversarial Networks for Bridging Cross Domain Semantic Gaps in Computer Vision” as the Second Year Fellowship Winner for the academic year 2018.

Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Science and Technology, encouraged the winners to actively consider commercializing their ideas. “The DST is actively promoting new areas of Science & Technology. The Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship program aligns with this objective and I am pleased to see that it encourages young research scholars to develop their ideas through active support and mentorship. I am excited to see their interest and desire to invent and innovate. There has never been a better time to try to convert ideas into commercial solutions. I look forward to seeing wider participation in the coming years.”

For more news and updates follow us on Twitter.


Previous articleFujifilm X-A5 mirrorless digital camera with 24.2MP APS-C sensor, X Series zoom lens kit launched in India
Next articleOakter Smart Home to invest $2 million in R&D
Srivatsa Ramesh
Fell in love with Android OS from the day I bought my first Smartphone in 2013. A budding Android Developer. Love to write about Android, Tech, and Smartphones. Technology enthusiast addicted to my smartphone, I love clicking photos with my smartphone, traveling and listening to music. Currently using a OnePlus 6T and Ticwatch S.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.